Thought Catalog

Alagich KatyaAlagich Katya

Let’s talk eating disorders. As someone who has suffered from an eating disorder on and off for the past 10 years, I am always a bit shocked at some of the assumptions people make when I tell them. I don’t think it’s a matter of ignorance, just a lack of education on the topic in our society as a whole. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t know much about it either if I hadn’t lived through it.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “oh, so you throw up after every meal?” or “were you just trying to get attention?” No, no, those things aren’t necessarily true of every person who has an eating disorder – as with any disorders, the situation is different and unique for everyone who struggles with it. Let’s go through what I believe to be the three most prominent myths:

MYTH: You can…

View original post 381 more words

